Hawaii

South Maui Beach Ceremony- What time?

Hi everyone! This is my first post to the board :) We are getting married next October and I am just beginning to plan! We already have our reception venue, at a Private Estate in Lahaina. And we know we want to get married on a beach in South Maui. My dilemma is that I have heard the best time for pictures (and to avoid the heat for guests) is in the morning around 10 or 11. I'm ok with that, but what time do I have the reception at in Lahaina? Should I do an afternoon reception? Thanks for all your input, I look forward to joining the board discussions!

Re: South Maui Beach Ceremony- What time?

• We did our ceremony just before sunset. The temperature and light were perfect! My friend Sarah from this board got married at the same spot a few months earlier at 9:30 am and was drenched with sweat. Evening is much cooler.
  • We are having ours at 8:30am to avoid the heat. 
  • We just got married in Lahaina a few weeks ago at a private estate.  Our ceremony was a 5:45-6:15.  It was pretty warm but not uncomfortable.  It was just the 2 of us so we did not have a formal reception but it gave us plenty of time for ceremony, signing the papers, videographer interviews, pictures around the house and then to the beach for sunset pictures.  We had dinner prepared for us at 7:30 at the house, it was much cooler and the lighting was awesome across the water just after sunset for a great view at dinner.   Once the sun is up it is pretty warm all day until it sets, especially if your house is not right on the water.

• We were just in Maui, and at 10 or 11am it is HOT out already.  Even at 9am it's getting pretty warm.  I think if you want to do the morning thing you are better off getting married very early morning.  Then you get the cooler weather and the beach more to yourself. 
    Photobucket Photobucket Anniversary
  • lorena224lorena224 member
    First Comment First Anniversary
    edited August 2012