Hawaii
Options

AW: I graduated today!!!

Finally, I have waited two years for this day and it has come and gone!!! Time in culinary school has been awesome but now I am ready to get out and put my skills to the test, and return home to FI!!!

My graduation was SO awesome!!! I graduated from a university two years ago and mine today was nothing like it - so much better and more personal, especially since it was less than 70 students. By pure luck, my seat was on the end of the front row closest to the podium, and our guest speaker was Emeril Lagasse! So I was super close to him the whole time, lol! I remember watching his shows when I was younger so it was cool to actually see him in person. He shook all of our hands after we received our cordons (medals basically instead of a diploma for the ceremony) and said congratulations.
I also received two awards!!! I earned the highest GPA in my graduating class and was the only person to get high honors (over a 3.75), so I got an award for that. I also got an award for excellent performance in the management classes. I was so amazed and proud of myself!!! I'm glad that my parents were here to support me as well.
Then at our luncheon afterwards, a few friends and I approached Emeril to take a quick picture with him and not bother him too much. While we were taking the picture, he started asking us all what our plans were, starting with me. I told him that I was moving back to Hawaii, and that I had applied somewhere where I saw he is doing a food show at next month! He told me to contact to his chef organizer (who was there) about coming to assist him!!!!! Even if I don't get a job out of it or even work alongside Emeril, it will still be an amazing experience, so I got a business card out of that!
Sorry this is SUPER long, but I am just really proud of myself and really excited. At this point, I'm not worried about finding a job, it's just a matter of when and where and being in the right place at the right time!