Hawaii
Options

White or Ivory Dress for Outdoor Wedding

Hi Everyone!  I am new to the knot boards.  My FI and I are getting married at the Olowalu Plantation House on April 28, 2011 and I am a little behind in planning, but am trying to kick it into gear (otherwise we will have a beautiful venue and nothing else!) :)  Anyways, quick question - I found my dress and am really debating the ivory vs. white decision.  With my skin tone, I can wear either and always thought I would wear white, but am worried that white may be too harsh in the Maui sun.  Any thoughts?  What did everyone else do?  The dress is taffeta and the groomsmen (and probably groom) are all wearing white shirts with khaki pants. 

Thanks in advance!

Re: White or Ivory Dress for Outdoor Wedding

• Options
    sld0618sld0618 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011

My dress is diamond white, it's like a mix of white and ivory.  I'm getting married on the beach though, and I thought white would be too harsh and bright.  The GM are also doing the white dress shirt, so we're waiting until I get my dress in to match them up to it.  I don't think it will really matter though if they match or not, just as long as FI does to me.

• Options
    edited December 2011
    Truthfully, I say go with whatever colour you like best. Mine was neither white nor ivory but a warm white.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    go with whatever you want! my dress was taffeta too and i ended up picking ivory so it didn't look as harsh with my skin tone.
  • Options
    AKWinterBrideAKWinterBride member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I agree, go with whichever dress you like more.  My dress is white, white as I think it will look best against tan skin, but it's really just a preference thing!! 
    Photobucket Photobucket Anniversary
  • Options
    edited December 2011