Minnesota-Minneapolis and St. Paul
Options

Cowles Conservatory/Sculpture Garden

Hello all,

I'm a recently engaged student on a really tight budget, and we we're looking at having the wedding/reception at the Sculpture Garden, which is where we got engaged.  Ideally, we would like to have it in Cowles Conservatory.  Does anyone know of someone who has had or is having their wedding in the Sculpture Garden and/or Cowles Conservatory?

I've tried to get in contact with the Minneapolis Parks and Rec permit person, and she (frankly) was rude and did not know answers to a lot of my questions, responding that those answers would be on the website.  The website, however, consists of about 3 paragraphs stating that you can basically have a wedding there and to contact them for more information. :-/  I'm a wee bit frustrated because we have our heart set on this location.

If anyone has any helpful suggestions or could get me in contact with someone who may that would be most appreciated!

Re: Cowles Conservatory/Sculpture Garden

• Options
    edited December 2011
    Congrats! Perhaps try contacting the Walker, since they may have a better contact for the sculpture garden. Good luck!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I just got married there in April!  Here's what you need to know:

Since you're planning to have your ceremony and reception there, you can get a permit for 3:00-12:00 for $1,000.  We only had the ceremony there, which cost us $500 for our permit.  The space can seat up to 100.  You'll have to find your own vendor for tables/chairs unless your caterer provides those.  Your contract is good only for the Palm Room, which means the 2 long hallways are still open to the public.  The Parks Board will have someone there to stand guard so you don't get any crashers in the Palm Room during your contracted time.

You will not be able to get in early to set up.  Everything has to be set up and torn down within your contract period.