Missouri-Kansas City

wedding venue

Hello :)

I'm brainstorming venues that can hold up to 400 people. I know that seems like a ton, but we both have huges families and lots of friends. I thought about Union Station and also Memorial Hall. Has anyone had good luck with either of these and does anyone have an idea of a better venue?
Thank you in advance~
*victoria

Re: wedding venue

• Another place to try is Camelot Ballroom in Stanley KS. It might be far for you if you are considering downtown areas, but it is one enormous room and I did a cake there (I'm a cake designer) for about 400 guests. I'm guessing it could fit a lot more. It doesn't have a lot of character like Union Station but it fits your guest list and I'm almost positive it is cheaper!

I haven't been to/in a wedding at either Union Station or Memorial Hall. I did call Union Station inquiring about our wedding and the lady seemed kind of rude, very short, and when I asked if there was an outdoor space for the ceremony, either there or somewhere close, she got mad at me that I told her I didn't want to get married under the clock and she said "if you don't want all that we have to offer I suggest you go somewhere else." Sooooo I thanked her and crossed it off the list. Hopefully I just caught her on a bad day and others have/had better experience.
  • I've heard that weddings at Union Station are really nice that is probably a great choice.  Our venue is the Sheraton Overland Park.  My wedding is a lot smaller but I know they accommodate very large weddings up to 500 comfortably in their large ballroom.