Ohio-Columbus

Major Life Decisions

So my FI and I have been going through some major changes and I feel like I need to get some feedback. If you couldn't tell from my s/n, I'm a pharmacist and so is my FI. We both work for the same company, and he just got a permanent spot in a store that is 45 minutes-1 hour away from our condo (aka, the furthest store away). Because of  this, we have recently starting looking at homes to purchase that would put us more in the middle of the two stores where we work. Well, we went to see a house today and it was PERFECT. 5 acres of land, set off the road, 4 bedrooms, 5 years old, room for a pool, 3500 square feet. We fell in love. The bad news: it's a short sale as the home is *almost* in foreclosure and the septic system has to be replaced. We put an offer in contingent on us getting approved for a loan that will cover the septic system. I'm so afraid that I've bitten off more than I can chew with this thing and trying to save for the wedding, but this house is exactly what we want and where we want it. Definitely a confusing time for me right now. Thanks for letting me vent.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Major Life Decisions

• jnkreagerjnkreager member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I bought a short sale, and I am so happy that I did!  I got such a bargain on it and was able to spend money that I saved to fix it up.  My advice: look long term.  Will you look back and regret if you pass this house up?  Or is it more likely that will you look back and regret skimping or delaying your wedding?
    imageDaisypath Anniversary tickers
  • edited December 2011
    Agreed, as one of my best friends would say, "A wedding is just a day, a house is a long long time!!" put more money into the wedding. 
  • AjoydAjoyd member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011