Missouri-St Louis

Ceremony help

I'm just beginning the planning process and I'm trying to find ceremony locations.  I will not be getting married in a church because I am not having a religious ceremony and I don't want to get married outside.  I also don't care for the Jewel Box or Piper Palm House.  I like the 9th Street Abbey but I want to know what my other options are.  I have 150 guests and a somewhat small budget but I'm really just trying to see what kind of choices I have.  Can anyone help?

Re: Ceremony help

• aeperez80aeperez80 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We were in a simliar situation.  We chose Moulin Events because they have a separate ceremony room.  If you have a smaller budget then this is definitely a place worth looking at.  What makes this place unique is that they separate the beverage price from the food so you're not paying the full bar fee for guests under 21.  Unlike most venues there's not a food & beverage minimum.  I highly recommend letting the event coordinator put together an estimate.  This will not only allow you to get a better feel for what you're paying for but it will also give the event coordinator a chance to offer suggestions on how to keep the cost within budget.    
  • cgeithmancgeithman member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011

For an indoor ceremony, you might check The Conservatory in St. Charles, although i don't know how large it is. Some other ideas would be a theater, Magic house, City Museum, old buildings downtown maybe?I feel like I've seen pictures from a ceremony at like an old post office or something? I wish I could remember because it was really cool. Some hotels will also offer you two rooms (one for ceremony and one for reception) or maybe a terrace or something. I'm doing a wedding this fall at the Hyatt downtown and the ceremony is outside on a tarrace with the Arch in the background. the reception is just next door in a banquet room.