New York-Hudson Valley
Options

Poughkeepsie Area

Hello Ladies,

Happy Monday! I wanted to know if anyone out there knew of a non-denominational church, or a chapel, in the Poughkeepsie Area. I am Catholic and my fiance was married once before in a Catholic church, now divorced. We know we have the option of doing an on-site ceremony, but we both kind of wanted to have a church wedding...any ideas, suggestions...any help would be great!  :-)

Re: Poughkeepsie Area

• Options
    edited December 2011
    One girl on here had a similiar situation and had her ceremony at the chapel at Marist college, so that's worth a look. Congrats and Good luck!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Hi.  I think I'm the person Terri&Joe is talking about. 

My husband and I are both catholic and since he is divorced could not get married in a catholic church.  I still wanted a church wedding.  I am a graduate of Marist and was able to use their chapel.   
    We had an awesome officiant (Rev. Engle).  We had as close to a catholic ceremony as your can get. 
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    My husband is Lutheran and I am Catholic. We were married at Christ Episcopal Church in Poughkeepsie, and had a wonderful experience. They really worked with us on the ceremony, and FIL was able to co-officiate since he is a Lutheran minister. Also, the church is beautiful! I highly recommend it!

http://www.christchurchpok.org
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Yes, you have to be Marist alumni to use the chapel. Hope you are able to find something I am not much help. We are doing a non-denominational ceremony outdoors.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    There are also chapels at Vassar, Boudin Park & the Culinary. 
    If you have a relative that is a Marist Alumni you can use the chapel also. 
  • Options
    edited December 2011

Thank you so much for all of the information ladies, what a great help you all are.