New York-Hudson Valley

Question for teachers (not wedding related)

Hi ladies!

I'm usually on the NYC board but wanted to find out information on getting a teaching position Upstate. Me and FI currently live in Brooklyn and are considering moving upstate near Goshen/Chester area. I am a special ed teacher and was wondering if any teachers out there can stir me in the right direction on how to go about applying to schools out in Orange County? I currently teach for the DOE but I don't know if there are any other requirements in order to teach Upstate. Also, how is the salary for teachers?

Thanks!

Re: Question for teachers (not wedding related)

• Hi!
    I was exactly in your predicament! I have been working in the Bronx for the past two years and last summer we moved to a cute little town called Cold Spring in Putnam County. Needless to say, I had to find a new job...commuting 100 miles a day to the Bronx was getting to be too much! So I looked everyday on OLASJOBS (a database filled with teaching positions) and Dutchess County BOCES - Job Recruitment sites. Thankfully I landed my dream job one month ago as a 1st grade Special Ed teacher. Best of luck to you in your search!! It is definitely something worth looking into.
    Lots of schools up here also like that you've had your inner-city experience!
  • Thank you soo much! My FI is actually from Upstate and we are up there all the time since his family still lives there. If you don't mind me asking, how long did it take you hear back from schools from the time you started sending your resumes out? And how is the pay? I heard mix stories on the salaries. Is it more or less than city teachers? Sorry for all the questions LOL! If you can work in the city you can work anywhere! LOL!