Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Missing RSVP's = Stress

This is my first time posting on The Knot, but I wanted to get a consensus from other brides as to how they did, or would, remedy this situation. We are one week away from our RSVP deadline, and have heard back from less than half of the wedding guest list. Friends have verbally mentioned that they would be in attendance, but have yet to RSVP officially. It's got me, the bride, really down and out and feeling unspecial. Why did we spend all this time and money planning if no one wants to come? Out of 200+ invited, we have 80 RSVPs. A majority of my family has totally flaked, and I just don't get it at all. I reached out to some people to confirm they they even got the invitation, since we live in Philadelphia and have the most unreliable post office service ever. Everyone said, yes, they did receive it. That's it! It makes me want to call the whole thing off. Has anyone else dealt with this or been through it and if so, how did you deal and fix it? I am afraid I am going to have to spend all next weekend hunting people down and getting answers, which is not fun at all. Thanks for your help, in advance, Knotties!

Re: Missing RSVP's = Stress

• Options
    It's really unfortunate that people don't RSVP promptly, but it happens.  It happens to a lot of brides......so don't get yourself down, or all worked up about it.  I'm sure it isn't personal against you. 

Have FI get a hold of his side of the family and you contact your side.  It will help take some of the stress away if you both work on it together.  Like pp's said though.  Wait until after the RSVP deadline has passed before you start tracking people down. 

Don't let the lack of received RSVP's put a dark spot on your day - just deal with it and move on.  It'll be great and all will be forgotten the day of your wedding
  • Options