Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Stupid emotions. Stupid hormones. Stupid vendors.

Just heard from the Etsy vendor who is making the dresses for my flower girls. The original ship date was March 9. Then it was "late March". Now it's April 27th. The wedding is May 18th. If she pushes it back any further, I'm going to reach through the computer and cut a b!tch. 

Ceremony musicians contacted me today. Because we didn't put down a definite time in our contract (which they said was fine, at the time) they have overbooked themselves. We requested and paid for a violin and guitar duo. Now all that's available is a violin and cello duo. Oh, and they can only play one of the six songs I requested for the ceremony. 

I'm trying to look at this objectively and remind myself it's not a big deal... but I just want to cry about it for awhile. Stupid Etsy. Stupid guitarists. Rwar.

Re: Stupid emotions. Stupid hormones. Stupid vendors.

• Options
    Speaking as a frequent ceremony musician myself, what your duo is doing is not acceptable. If you have paid for a violin and guitar duo, that's what you should get. NOW, that being said, violin and cello will likely be even more lovely, because the cello is just the best instrument (except the violin, which is what I play). :-)

How long ago did you request your songs? Because they should be able to find or arrange those pieces for you, if they are available as recordings or sheet music. 

Or did you hire students who don't have much experience? 

You should have put down a definite time in your contract, but they also should have checked with you before taking another booking. 
  • Options
    This would all be annoying to me normally and adding what you're already going through...even more annoying. I'm so sorry.

Hopefully the etsy lady gets her act in gear quickly.