Wedding Etiquette Forum

HELP! Parents refuse to meet fiance

A visited a few Arab girlfriends of mine from university back in the city where I studied. Having completed our studies and many of us still un-married - many of us now have our parents panicking thinking we'll never meet anyone and get married. However... most of us have met somone... and would like to get married...but...:A question on behalf of a few second generation Middle Eastern brides-to-be-hopefuls... what can be done to ease tension with conservative, "fob" parents who refuse to meet with boyfriends simply on the basis that the 'don't approve' for x,y or z reason? eg. he's not 'our' level, he's not educated/rich enough.This is a very common problem for Arab girls, Hindi girls, and likely many girls of other cultures. Girl meets boy, relationship gets serious, marriage becomes the next step they want to take... but.... mom and dad are FURIOUS and don't want anything to do with the boy.Nothing to do with religion or race. They're just conservative parents that feel they should have all kinds of say in who their daughter marries and the list is a mile long and conveniently everything the boy isn't. All of sudden.What to do?

Re: HELP! Parents refuse to meet fiance

• I don't think I have much advice to give on this, except just trying to get the parents to see that you are happy and hopefully have that be enough to convince them to agree to meet they guy.There are cultural boards too where you might be able to track down other girls who have gone through similar experiences.