Wedding Etiquette Forum

Vent.

I wouldn't really call  myself much of a bridezilla, especially one that complains about another bride stealing her thunder.  But this on going situation has got me a little irked.  (Sorry it's so tl;dr.)

I should note that other than fixed holidays, I can only take off 6 paid holidays this year according to my work contract.  4 days for my wedding, and 2 days for personal illness.  Any other days I choose to take off will be deducted off my salary at about $150 per day.  Also, we are paying for the wedding all on our own, so our savings is taking a big hit and our budget isn't terribly large.

When I was 20 I did study abroad in Japan and lived with a host family year.  We got along great, I came home for a year to graduate, and moved back to Japan after I graduated to be with FI.  I still keep up contact with them and visit often, and they treat me like their own daughter.  My host sister and I are only a few months apart in age and are pretty close.

I got engaged last year and told host family (including host sister) about it.  We said we were looking to get married in September 2011 at the time and probably in Vegas.  My host family (including host sister) said that sounded great because it would be fun and give them a reason to take off work for travel afterwards, especially since it falls during a Japanese holiday week.  We decided the date and informed them way in advance, although I onlyI sent out my STDs earlier this month.  (I should note STDs aren't something Japanese send out- only invitations.)