Wedding Etiquette Forum

Unplugged Ceremony: How to communicate

Hi all! So I've reviewed other posts here on the topic of asking guests not to take pictures during the ceremony, and it is VERY controversial. I understand many consider there is no appropriate way to ask this of guests because the request itself is inappropriate. Others, however, seem to agree with me that asking guests to ONLY focus on being present and to look with their EYES not their screens is okay

I've firm in knowing that I want this. I'm a photographer myself so I understand the implications of screens in pictures but my reason is not that, (before/after the ceremony they can be all screens) but wanting focus on the solemnity the customized ceremony and the act of matrimony, which is by far the most important aspect of the day to us.

I tell you my reason so you know, but my etiquette question is not whether to make this request but whether how, so I guess I am addressing just those who've stated they agree this is possible without being rude.

Everything I've seen has been done through programs. We've not planned to make programs because of simplifying and just a "no program" preference we have. Is it POSSIBLE to communicate the no-pictures request without a program? Since ceremonies usually begin with music and processional, and not "announcements" I'm not sure HOW to accomplish this. Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks!
Martita

Re: Unplugged Ceremony: How to communicate

• I'm not sure what the official etiquette on this one is, but in all honesty, you won't notice. After we got back from our honeymoon, I found out my MIL (who was sitting about 3 feet away from where I was standing) took pictures of the entire ceremony. Mostly pictures of my elbows and knees, given her location. Had I noticed at the time, or known she was going to do this, I would have been annoyed, but once you get to the end of that aisle, you really do not notice anything other than your groom :)