New York-New York City
Options

Waxing....

Ok, I'm a newbie when it comes to the whole 'waxing thing'...but thought this might be the best place to get rec's for a great wax(er) in NYC. I am thinking of just starting out with a regular ole bikini wax, and eventually moving up to a Brazilian..if I can tolerate it. So...if any of your have a favorite spot in the city - let me know! Also, if you have any tips on how to go about handling my first visit, that would be great too! I'm a little nervous!

Re: Waxing....

• Options
    Lola MinnieLola Minnie member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I go to a salon locally in SI. My FSIL goes to one of the Bliss Spa locations.  I'm sure other girls will have city recs.

But regarding tips, I'm going to be honest with you, the first 2 times hurt like a b!tch. But I think the benefits outweigh the pain so I've been going 3-4 years. Mine is barely a 10 minute process for a brazilian so it goes by quick.
    From what I've heard, if you are new to it, to take tylenol or other asprins prior before your appt.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/local-wedding-boards_new-york-new-york-city_waxing?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Local%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:114Discussion:b03124ed-4826-4c4b-96f5-0693a8f2c3baPost:be0a9887-5b83-4e71-9739-be66fc2f67f3">Re: Waxing....</a>:
    [QUOTE]I go to a salon locally in SI.
    Posted by Lola Minnie[/QUOTE]
    Lola - where do you go on SI?
    Helene (Nova726)'s book recommendations, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf) Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Options
    Lola MinnieLola Minnie member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    The salon was called Vis a Vis on Hylan (about across the street from the Excelsior Grand).

It is now called Touche Salon, but with a majority of the same people.  I go to Anna Red. Their # is 718.351.9700
  • Options