New York-New York City
Options

DIY Letterpress Invitations

I had been searching high and low for an affordable way to get customized letterpress invitations done. Dalphine.com quoted me about $1500 for 1 main invitation plus 1 reception card at 120 count, done in letterpress from a template. (Keep in mind this doesn't include response cards or envelopes yet). 

I searched around the web for a DIY class I could take and the timing couldn't have been better. I found Intima Press in New York City that gives a DIY letterpress wedding invitation class 1 night a week for 5 weeks.

I am a graphic designer so I wanted to design my own invitation and I wanted to assemble everything into pocket folds. The entire job... 4 cards, 1 response envelope and 1 mailing envelope done in letterpress would have cost me a fortune. but this was a great option for me. I printed partially on my offset laserjet printer and most of it was done in letterpress. I purchased all the paper and envelopes myself at a discount at Jam Paper in NYC. The pocket folds I bought at Paper Presentations.

The entire job, materials and all cost me about $820. But at the end of it, I felt like I started to learn a new trade and I was able to do EXACTLY what I wanted. I really went overboard with the number of cards I wanted to do and all the intricacies. But I really did not feeloverwhelmed at all (just questioned myself whether I was really able to pull it off!). Mindy from Intima Press walked me through every step of the way. I really felt like she wouldn't have let me go through it alone. So I promised her I'd post this blog.

If you don't want to do it yourself, she also can do the whole job for you at a REALLY reasonable price! At my last class she also mentioned her work is being featured on WE channel on a reality wedding show!
Check her out! www.LetterpressDesigns.com

Here are some pictures!

http://community.theknot.com/cs/ks/blogs/lingdesigns/attachment/34453525.ashx