Wedding Etiquette Forum

Should I just have 2 last names?

I don't know what to do. 

I'm a law student finishing up my last year of school.  I have been hired by a firm, and I start in August 2011. I'm getting married  just before my start date. I did not tell them I was getting married during the interview process (which was this past June) - I didn't feel it was relevant.

Anyway, I want to change my name, but at the same time, if I call them in April or May to work out a start date, is it weird that I say... "Oh, by the way, I'm getting married and my name is changing."  Will they not think and wonder why I didn't mention it months ago? Will I come across as a flake? 

Also, I have never admitted this to anymore, and I have a hard time admitting it / thinking it to myself, but what happens if my marriage doesn't work out? Obviously I wouldn't get married if I had even the slightest doubt, but 50% of marriages end in divorce. What if I change my name, and then it doesn't work out.  I don't want the whole world to know I'm divorced if I change my name, and then change my name back after a divorce.  I realize this thought is highly speculative and realistically not plausible... but there's always that small possibility. 

I'm also toying over the idea of legally keeping my name but assuming his name. So I'd be Shoegal maiden name at work and Shoegal married name everywhere else.  

OR another idea I had was just change my name when I have kids? Or would this look like a shotgun wedding to people / clients in my profession? 

As you can tell I'm really conflicted / not sure what to do. I'd appreciate any thoughts / feedback or advice - especially from ladies in the legal field!

Thanks!

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Should I just have 2 last names?

• I have 2 last names and I hate it.   I should have just picked one or the other.