Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Scared to tell older sister about engagement - help?

Hi - this is my first time posting here so forgive me if I'm not up on the rules.

So Matthew (fiancee) and I are engaged, but not "officially". He has asked, I have accepted, and we have a date reserved. My parents know that we're planning to get married, but not that it's certain. Matthew wants to wait until we have the ring (being made at the moment) to announce it. 

Anyway the issue is that I have a lovely, beautiful, sister who is five years older (31) and just unlucky in love. I'm so nervous because I just know she's going to be upset. She is such a great person but suffers from low self esteem, and she's always felt that I do everything better than her (not true at all). 

Does anyone have any advice on how to tell her or what I can do when the day comes (in about two weeks) to make her feel better? I want to ask her to be a bridesmaid - should I do it when I tell her? She lives far away, if that helps. She has never met Matthew due to the distance, but sister and I talk all the time.

Thanks in advance, brides-to-be!

Celia
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Scared to tell older sister about engagement - help?

• Options
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_etiquette_scared-tell-older-sister-engagement?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:9Discussion:fe6b23d8-1f4b-43e8-865d-9b632dc794b8Post:12626812-9ab4-43c1-9b49-d0c5f5444894">Scared to tell older sister about engagement - help?</a>: