North Carolina

Makeup Artist Contract?

I think I have [finally] found a MUA for my wedding in May.  She was recommended by Kymm from Who's The Fairest, a popular MUA on TK.  At this point, I'm totally going on Kymm's recommendation and the MUA's website portfolio.  I do have a trial scheduled with her for Dec 3.  The issue is that she doesn't have a contract.  Once she confirmed her availability for my date, I asked her to forward a copy of her contract, to which she replied "I do not use contracts, I've had no issues in the past." This is my first time using a MUA, so perhaps this is standard practice in that industry.  Aside from my stylist (who does my hair weekly and is also a guest at the wedding), I have contracts with all of my wedding vendors and I am concerned that not spelling out the expectations (date, time, specific services) and payment requirements could spell trouble down the line.

Am I freaking out for no reason?
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Makeup Artist Contract?

• squirrelcubesquirrelcube member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I don't have a formal contract with my hair/makeup artist.  My bridesmaids and I are having our mani/pedi done at a salon on Friday, and the same salon is doing our hair & makeup on Saturday.  It's a well-known salon and is really reputable, though, so I'm not worried about it.  They did have us fill our paperwork to detail what we wanted done, and we paid a deposit to hold the appointment, but that's it.

I'd say if your wedding isn't until May, and you have a trial run in December, you'll probably be okay.  I didn't find my salon until about a month ago, and it still worked out okay.  Even if something happens and you have to change, you have plenty of time to do so.

Good luck to you with your planning!
    Anniversary Visit The Knot! Visit The Knot! Visit The Knot! Visit The Knot!
  • pearls687pearls687 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment