Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions
Options

Ella's Garden September 18, 2010

The most important day of your life is not something you should have to worry about the food and whether it will be hot and not room temperature or scorched.  When we picked this wedding venue the options for food at that time was Image Catering for the pasta menu.  We contacted Image Catering to schedule a tasting of the menu; the first appointment was rescheduled for a further date.   The second appointment was a no show and no one was at location to meet us or even a phone call to reschedule!  I then emailed Ella's Garden and informed them that we are having problems with one of their vendors on July 9, 2010.  I also have all correspondence from Ella’s Garden and the owner regarding all these issues I am commenting about.  The owner of Ella’s Garden Maria Dussel sent me an email on July 10, 2010 apologizing for the issue and assured me that Image Catering will no longer be used and she will be replacing the vendor with a local Italian Food Vendor and it may take a couple weeks.  I was very happy with this and felt everything would be resolved and we would be contacted soon with a new vendor.  Time went by and Ella’s Garden did not contact me regarding the new Italian Vendor so I sent an email on July 28, 2010 to Maria Dussel the owner.  The wedding is approaching on September 18, 2010 and the food is not yet settled and what menu we will have is also up in the air?  An email was sent from Maria Dussel on July 30, 2010 that they have yet to find a vendor and they would like to commit to and they more than likely will use the vendor in Dickinson, Texas that they use at their other location, Centurion Palace.  The email also acknowledged how far the drive was but that the food at Gio’s Italian Kitchen in Dickinson would be well worth the distance.  On Saturday July 31, 2010 we drove to Dickinson and had a tasting at Gio’s Italian Kitchen and the food was great just like she guaranteed.  We spoke with Steve, the owner at Gio’s Italian Kitchen in Dickinson and he assured us the food would not be a problem to be delivered to Tomball and the equipment would keep the food warm and this would not be an issue.  I sent an email to Maria Dussel that we were pleased with food at Gio’s, and that is who we would love to cater our wedding.  The wedding day arrived and my Fiancé arrived early to drop of a couple things before the wedding and a car pulled up around four and was unloading the food for a dinner that was supposed to start at Seven-Thirty.  The food arrived from Gio’s Italian Kitchen to Tomball which is 65 miles in a car in aluminum containers and not in the warming equipment to keep the food hot.  After the ceremony and the pictures the dinner started and when we sat to eat.  The food was not hot and served at room temperature.  The Chicken Alfredo was scorched and tasted burnt.  I could not believe this, as the food at the tasting was completely different than what was being served.  A guest also commented on the Chicken Alfredo being burnt and the food was not warm and we had many comments like this.  I sent an email to Ella’s Garden Maria Dussel and asked how she would like to resolve the food being burnt and then being served not hot also?  I received an email back from the owner stating the food was burnt and she apologized and was not informed of this until after my email and that she should have known on the wedding day.  A burner went out and they had difficulty with keeping the food warm and the sauce was scorched due to them having to heat it up in their kitchen.  As per our contract, Ella’s Garden DOES NOT warm or allow anyone to prepare food from the caterer once it arrives at the facility.  I requested a refund for the food and feel it is good business not to have to pay for something that was messed up and that Ella’s Garden acknowledged was messed up.  The email was left with no response two weeks ago and still no refund for the food that was burnt and cold or response from Maria Dussel.  If you would like me to forward all correspondence from Ella’s Garden to you I have kept everything.  Why should you have to worry about food being served hot and not burned on your wedding day?

Re: Ella's Garden September 18, 2010

  • Options
    First of all, paragraphs are your friend.  That was just way too hard to read.  I confess that I gave up.

    Second, it appears that you weren't happy with the venue.  I suggest that you post this on a local area board.  You're on an international board.  While I'm sorry that you had a bad experience, I'm in NJ and what happens in Houston doesn't really impact me at all.  But people in your local area might want to know about this.
    "Trix, it's what they/our parents wanted. Why so judgemental? And why is your wedding date over a year and a half ago? And why do you not have a groom's name? And why have you posted over 12,000 posts? And why do you always say mean things to brides?" palegirl146
This discussion has been closed.
Choose Another Board
Search Boards