Nevada-Las Vegas
Options

Bridal Party questions

Do you think it's weird to tell my bridesmaids (five of them) to find a knee-length black dress that they like, but to say they all have to buy the same shoes? I don't want to make being in my wedding any more expensive than it has to be, but I think wearing the same shoes would tie them all together. Do you think this will look right?

Also, what kind of flowers do you get for a groomswoman? Does she get a boutonnierre (how I hate spelling that word...) like the other guys? A wrist corsage? Whatever the mothers are getting?

Any advice? Thanks!

Re: Bridal Party questions

• Options
    bcschumanbcschuman member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I am having all my bridesmaids (6 of them) get knee length dresses... but they are in the same color/fabric.  They can pick their own shoes and I will do the accessorizing beyond that for them!

As for the groomswoman... I have no experience there.  I would say that a wrist corsage would like nice or maybe some fun flowers in her hair???  Be creative!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I'm thinking of having jewelry made for the BMs too, in the same color, but to fit their dress style!

I should also say my BMs are fairly wide ranging across the country and in size. Also, the groomswoman is incredibly non-girly. The wedding might be the first time FI will see her in a dress.
  • Options
    direy25direy25 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011

Just throwing in my two cents, but I really wouldn't suggest making them all wear the same shoes.  A shoe that is comfortable on one person may be completely unbearable for someone else.  I think matching jewelry would be a much better option.  I just don't think people are going to pay that much attention to shoes.  And honestly, if they're all wearing black dresses, holding bouquets, and standing next to you at the altar, why does anything else need to be "tied together?"