• Images
  • Text
  • Find a Couple + Registry
GO
Michigan-Grand Rapids

Where to start?

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on this local board. I got engaged this weekend in Grand Rapids and I am excited to begin the wedding planning process...I just don't know where to begin! What were the first decisions you made?

My fiance and I are hoping to get married in late August/early September of next year in Grand Rapids (although we are open to other fun locations in West Michigan). I was also hoping to get some suggestions for reception locations and photographers in Grand Rapids/West Michigan. I would also hoping to find a wholesale flower vendor in West Michigan so that I can create my own bouquets and centerpieces...do any of you have any suggestions?

A little info that may be helpful:
-I want to have a subtle "nautical" theme (navy blues/khaki/yellows)
-we are expecting to invite between 200-225 people
-his family will be travelling from the Detroit area
-he is a WMU alum and I am a GVSU alum

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and/or advice you can give me! :) :) :)

Re: Where to start?

• akhensley81akhensley81 member
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments
    edited December 2011
    Hi there!

Congratulations on your engagement!! :) My advice would be to first figure out what your budget is, before you look at any venues or vendors.

TK has a pretty good checklist tool that shows you what you should be working on at 12 months, 9 months, 6 months, etc. I used it and it definitely helped.

Also, at the top of the board there is a sticky thread for vendor recommendations. Definitely check that out once you start looking for vendors.

Good luck!!
  • jazzybaccjazzybacc member
    Third Anniversary 100 Comments
    edited December 2011
    First of all, decide on a date, as well as a budget, and start booking vendors.  I booked more than a year in advance and we still had to change our date.