Michigan-Grand Rapids
Options

Opinions please on reception sites in GR area

Hello Ladies! I am new to the knot. Engaged just 3 weeks! :)

We are getting married next summer, which in wedding planning days isn't giving me a lot of options with regards to the reception sites. So, I am hoping you all can give me some good suggestions on two questions.

1.) I have been looking into the Crowne Plaza (by the airport). Do any of you know if this is a good venue for a reception site?

2.) I would actually like to find a reception venue that is a little bit more unique, but I haven't been able to locate anything. And, I have been looking non-stop. Do you have any suggestions of venues in the GR area that are unique?

Thanks!!

Re: Opinions please on reception sites in GR area

• Options
    edited December 2011
    My employer does a lot of stuff (training etc) through the Crown Plaza, and they always do a very nice job.

Whats your date? we are having our wedding and reception at Bowens mills in Yankee Springs. Its not GR per-say, but the GR area. I have pics in my bio, so feel free to check them out.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Do you want to have it in a hotel, a hall, or what type of feel would you like?  What type of budget are you hoping to stay within?  How many guest do you hope to have?
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Thanks for the information chestr22.

Ideally I would like to have a space with a great view. I would probably lean more toward a hotel than a hall, but ideally I would like a venue downtown that is more historic with exposed wood beams and brick walls. Also, about 200 guests and saving money is definately a concern, but with the right space, I would be willing to splurge.
  • Options
    shrades77shrades77 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011