Wedding Invitations & Paper
Options

Teacher inviting students

I'm a teacher and would like to invite my class to our wedding.

However there is only space for each of them and 1 parent. I'm afraid some of them may bring their entire family(one student is from a family of 13!)
How do I write the invites so it is obvious that only 1 parent is invited with the child? 
The best I've come up with so far has been:
"Child's Name and 1 Adult Guest"
but that seems sort of rude.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance

Re: Teacher inviting students

• Options

There was quite an uproar on ETIQUETTE when a teacher suggested inviting students, all the way to legal responsibilities and obligations.  If I were you, I wouldn't do this at all.

But if you choose to embrace all the risks and do this anyway, I like your wording.

• Options
    legal responsibilities? Not aware of such a thread, but I am aware of several others in my district inviting the kids. One even had a big cake shaped pinata for them.
    Out of curiosity I'll chck the thread, but the kids and some families already know they are invited. I'm certainly not going to un-invite anyone.
  • Options
    i've never understood teachers inviting their students. it's just so inappropriate on so many levels. 
  • Options
    tldhtldh member
    First Comment

When one of the attorneys in my former firm was married to a third grade teacher, they invited her class to the wedding but not the reception.  There weren't any problems and during a reception filled with personal injury attorneys and wedding plan discussions at the firm, not one thought of a single liability issue.

AKA GoodLuckBear14
  • Options
    As a teacher who loves my students I can totally understand your want for inviting your students.  However, there are many liabilities to consider.  Especially if will be any alcohol at your reception.
  • Options
    edited May 2010