June 2013 Weddings

stressing out!

im new to all this wedding stuff and have no idea where to start! Have any of you ladies gotten started and know what you want? i have no idea about anything and the more i think about the more i wanna hold off on the wedding. any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Re: stressing out!

• The first thing is to pick a date.  Then you figure out your budget.  My FI and I picked out a few things that were important to us (food and photography) so we focused our budget on these and dispersed the rest accordingly.  

We then picked out a theme and colors.  I had made a few collages with different themes and picked out which one felt most like us, cherry blossoms and bamboo!

After that is time to look into vendors and venues.  Look at venues SOON!!!! They get booked very far in advance so just be patient with this!

Just remember to take things one step at a time!  I have a calendar set up with deadlines for certain things like booking a caterer, ordering invitations, deciding on centerpieces, etc.

Have fun with it and don't let it stress you out!  In the end everything will come together!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • A lot of us here have been hanging around here for a while and have a decent amount of things planned already. If you are aiming to have a June 2013, you need to get going. I booked my venue in October 2011 and got one of the last available Saturdays in June. We got turned down by a lot of photographers also because they are already booked. So far I have my venue, ceremony location, photographer, and photobooth booked, and I am not even half as far along as some of these ladies.

First you need to determine what type of wedding you would like to have and set a tentative budget and get a rough estimate of how many guests you will be inviting.

The very first thing I would book is a reception location. Instead of being dead set on a date, I would just choose a month and see what the venue has available. Be flexible.