Getting in Shape
Options

Exercising shame...

So, I'm relatively new here. Wedding isn't until June 2014 so I've got lots of time. My dress fits amazingly, but I don't feel healthy and I don't look healthy. I want to, but my biggest problem is that I just don't exercise. I don't know what to do for a routine and I feel awkward doing it around other people. I'm a college student, but I don't have access to a free gym (and I probably wouldn't go because I'm so self conscious). I do walk to all of my classes though. 20min in the morning for my 9am, 10min to my 10am, 10min back to my dorm plus walking 20min to my FH's house across campus. 

I'm even self conscious about working out in from of my FH which is a bit of a bummer because A) I'll be marrying him! and B) I'm with him almost all of the time while we're here at school so I don't really get any alone time.

So I guess my questions are:
1) What's your workout routine? (DVDs? Just pushups, situps, etc?)
2) What are your eating habits like. (I used to have a MyFitnessPal, but just stopped tracking because I wasn't seeing any results and I just kept getting more and more discouraged).
3) What do you concentrate on when you workout? OR What keeps you motivated? (All I can think of is how heavy I am and how stupid I look. I get winded easily and have knee problems (thanks genetics) so running is not an option.) 

"Once in awhile, right in the middle of an ordinary life, love gives us a fairy tale."

Re: Exercising shame...

• Options
    Hello and welcome, speedchick! I just joined very recently also and ditto Lia; the ladies on this board are wonderfully welcoming and have great advice! I also ditto... well, essentially everything else Lia said :) I think what you are doing so far are great steps in the right direction! To answer your questions: