New Jersey
Options

Average Cost for Photographer and DJ??

Hi! 

So I'm just beginning my search for a photographer and DJ. I spoke to a couple photographers so far, and I'm just wondering what the average cost of photographers were for a wedding? Ideally I would love an engagement sitting to be included in the package as well as photo album, many (unlimited would be nice) images... all that good stuff. My fiancé and I are still trying to work out the budget for photographer/DJ/etc., but we are having a hard time narrowing down what the average cost would be for both! Also if you guys have any recommendations that would be fabulous as well ;) !

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Visit Fall.weddings.com

Re: Average Cost for Photographer and DJ??

• Options
    I am not sure about Photo but for DJs I would say the cost is around $2000-$2500 all depending on what extras you want. Good luck!
  • Options

I don't think there is an "average".  You might as well ask what the average price for a car is so we can ask if you're looking for a Ferarri or a Kia.  There are excellent and creative photographers that can cost as much as $10k or you can get hacks off of CraigsList for a few hundred. 

We budgeted ~$3,500 and spent just about that for the same things you described and are very happy with the quality and professionalism of who we hired (Robert Wayne Photography)

Less sure about DJ's as we're going to do a band, but I guess I'm surprised that they're north of $2k; I thought they were half that.  But don't really know.

• Options
    We semi-splurged on our photographer ($5000), but our DJ was on the lower end ($1250)