Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Are knotties the only etiquette minded people out there??

2»

Re: Are knotties the only etiquette minded people out there??

• Options

I think PPs are spot on with the sense of entitlement that seems to be running rampant in the world.

I definitely knew some things before coming to TK, but learned a lot more by being here.  I've also become a lot more judgey about people who do not follow some of the etiquette rules I've learned here.

Ditto every word of this from me :)
    Ditto me too.  I was once a newbie with sensitive feelings.  I got mad at a few regs, and tried to venture into the Princess land of Bee's and Wires, and came running back less than 24 hours later when I realized they have no etiquette or even a sense of decency on some things. I needed to be told straight up what was right, and I'm glad I came back. 

And now I put on my judgy pants when I get an invite to a potluck reception on Facebook.  Although even back when I was a newbie that was still wrong, now I know I'm not alone in the idea... 

lovefuzzies a coworker of mine was shocked when I told her I wasn't doing the money dance, and then proceeded to tell me she not only did one at her huge wedding she had 6 years ago "for her family" but that when she does her next wedding (to the same husband) in a few years "for his family" that she will do it again. 

On a side note, I have also been told that my pretty simple ceremony and reception are "unnecessary" by some people I am loosely acquainted with, and that I should forgo any dressy/classy wedding, and have a potluck everything.  That way it will happen "faster" (for the record, our engagement will be less than nine months long, which some of them claim is "too long").
    No wonder they seem to be ok with the free church wedding the facebook potluck reception lady had.