Pennsylvania-Pittsburgh

New to Planning... Thoughts on Official Marriage then Celebration Dinner/Party

Hi everyone...I'm very new to planning :) I look forward to checking out the many posts here and learning from those who are more experienced !!

My fiance and I have always talked about marrying with a couple close friends/family members or even with just us and a maid of honor / best man and then planning a seperate celebration where we dance, drink, eat and enjoy and celerbate with our friends and family. We also have considered having the marriage ceremony videotaped and then show that at our oarty.

Does anyone else have thoughts on this idea? Is anyone else planning to do this? How would you handle this?

Re: New to Planning... Thoughts on Official Marriage then Celebration Dinner/Party

• Hi there and welcome!! Congratulations on your engagement!!

You can absolutely do a very small ceremony with a larger reception later in the day. However, you would want to keep your ceremony to grandparents, parents, and siblings (and their children, if they have any). You can also choose to include a close friend or two. Extending your guest list for the ceremony further out will lead to a tiered event, which is an etiquette faux pas.

Are you planning to do the reception the same day as the ceremony?
  • It's your wedding - you can do it however you want. You wouldn't be the first to keep the ceremony intimate and have a larger party after. Some people may feel slighted for not being invited to the wedding, but that's their issue NOT yours.

Good luck and happy planning!!!!
    Daisypath Wedding tickers