Moms and Maids
Options

When to give Bridesmaid "thank you" gifts?

Hi Ladies!

I've been collecting gifts for my bridesmaids for a few months now, and am just finishing up this week. I'm excited to give them each something special and let them know how important their friendship has been to me not just now but over the many years we've known each other. My question is when is the best time to do this? I've been MOH a few times and honestly I think each time has been different and I can't quite recall exactly how it was done. 

We are having a rehearsal and rehearsal dinner the night before the wedding (the two locations are nearly across the street from one another, with the hotel we are all staying at next door to the restaurant). I'm wondering should I do this at the rehearsal or rehearsal dinner? Another time? This sounds like a silly question I guess, but is it weird to do it in front of a group like that? My FI also has some things for his guys and we'll have something for our parents as well.

Thanks!

Re: When to give Bridesmaid "thank you" gifts?

• Options
    I have always seen it done at the RD. 

• Options
    You host a tea or luncheon for your maids. To thank them and give them their presents. See link below. Your FI also hosts a thank you event like golf or a meal with his attendants, and gives them their presents then. It is wildly inappropriate to give gifts at RD because not everyone attending will be getting a gift, and because the RD is hosted by the parents of the groom and you do not want to stand up and start handing out gifts and hijack their event.  http://wedding.theknot.com/wedding-planning/rehearsal-dinner/articles/bridesmaids-tea-basics.aspx

• Options
    We just had a 15 minute rehearsal the day of the wedding. I gave my BM's their gifts in the bridal suite while we were getting ready.
  • Options