New Jersey

-

bride2b101015bride2b101015 member
First Anniversary First Comment
edited October 2013 in New Jersey

Re: -

• GB520GB520 member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    I think it would be a liability for vendors to say say yes to doing an event at an abandoned location. Too much can go wrong.
  • GB520GB520 member
    I have a BUNCH of questions! Any bit of advice will help!

1. Does anyone know of a unique/best-kept-secret type of venue such as an old abandon castle or mansion?
    2. Does anyone have any advice about a DIY wedding (bringing in your own caterer, table and linen rentals, servers, alcohol licenses, etc)? I'm not against all- inclusive venues but 1) I think the only way I'll be able to get a unique venue is if rent out the grounds to a beautiful historic site and bring in all the necessities myself and  2) I'm a grad student and want to keep it as cheap as possible
    3. What are your thoughts on a early October tented wedding in New Jersey?? Will it be TOO cold or can I get away with heaters?

We are from North-West New Jersey, near PA. We want to keep the max amount of travel time at an hour and a half.
    180-200 guests
    Some venues I already looked at are: Fonthill Castle, Burnside Plantation, and Bear Creek.
    I did just think of a castle. It's near lake hopatcong they do plays there there so not sure if it would work but it's worth contacting them. It's called Paxamicus. Try there.
  • Thank you, GB520! I just sent an e-mail requesting for more information! It looks beautiful and definitely along the lines of what I am looking for!
  • GB520GB520 member
    Awesome! Glad I could help.