Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

Canapes, Entree & Cake/Desserts

Hi Everyone -

Here is the idea. Please bare with me, as it is only an idea. Our wedding will consist of about a hundred. I have a friend of my daughters who is in culinary school and experience cooking for larger crowds, so I've decided to DIY "some" of my own wedding food. I know, sounds crazy, but I put a LOT of thought into this. By profession I'm an event planner, so I know the ordeals of what could go wrong. :)

However, I'm on a huge budget constraint and unless I can figure a way around it, it'll cost me way to much to get it catered with what I want to serve

Here is my preliminary menu

Wedding Menu

Appetizers:

Smoked Salmon on cracker with dill & horseradish sauce (me)

2 x  Cheeseballs (me)<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

Chicken salad puffs (?) (me)

First Course

Ø  Shrimp cocktail – Get the St. Elmo’s horseradish  (me)

Ø  Cantaloupe Wrapped Prosciutto  (me)

Ø  Vegetarian – Puff Pastry with Mushroom Pate or Stuffed Mushroom (justin)

Second Course

Ø  Tomato, Mozzarella and Basel Salad  (me)

Ø  House Salad (justin)

-          Sorbet cleanser  (me)

Third Course - Pasta Bar - add on's Justin, Sauce catered, Noodles Justin

Ø  Tomato Meat Sauce

Ø  Alfredo Sauce

Ø  Vegan – Pesto Sauce

Late Night Snack

Tortilla Chips with 7 layer dip cups (Justin)

Pulled Pork Sliders (Paul & Justin)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My dessert bar is the one giving me issues.

I don't want the huge expensive wedding cake. But I do want a small one to cut into, then 2 other types of cake (gluten & vegan), the grooms cake (chocolate), cupcakes (from SAMS; white ), 2 german strawberry fruit cakes, lemon tarts, petite fours, cream puffs and sugar cookie hearts. Then we are having two chocolate fountain bars (white chocolate & dark choclate)  with marshmallow, rice krispy treats & fruit.