African American Weddings
Options

What exactly is an African-American Themed Wedding?

I have been using TheKnot for a few months now but I only realized tonight that there is an African-American wedding category.

There isn't any particular type of clothing or decoration that would differentiate the wedding as would be the case with other nationalities (such as China, India, etc.). Am I the only one who thinks it strange that when you look at the photos in the "Real Weddings" section that the only distinction for the African-American wedding "category" is that the bride and groom are black? A bride and groom getting married on the beach; or in a garden; or in a church who simply happen to be black is labeled "African-American" wedding. (An important note that it is only when both the bride and groom are both black that this label applies.)<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

What am I missing? Not wanting to stir up trouble, am just truly confused by this...

Re: What exactly is an African-American Themed Wedding?

• Options
    African American is not a "nationality", it's a race or culture. As for your other questions... If you have to ask...
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    M1ssJ said:
    @aacrisp1 African-American is a broad encompassing term that includes many minorities of a darker hue in the American culture. This board includes, but is not limited to, women of Caribbean heritage, African heritage, American heritage as well as those of any race marrying an African-American. We have several board members in interracial relationships. This board celebrates the cultural similarities and differences that can come with belonging to this culture. But foremost we are a group of women who support each other through this planning process regardless of color , tradition, and cultural affiliation. I hope this answers your questions! Please jump in and join us.
    On the 50th Anniversary.   Well said Doctah!