North Carolina
Options

Costing money to try on wedding gowns?!?!!

I am looking for my dress and was informed by a popular salon where I live in Charlotte that it cost try on gowns at their store. (Of course this money would be able to be applied to the gown if I purchased it there, but what if I did not buy from them?)
Being a newbie I have never heard of this before.  Is this standard?  Do Bridal salons in other cities do this?  :/

Re: Costing money to try on wedding gowns?!?!!

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I've never heard of that before.  Albeit, I only went to David's Bridal, but my best friend is getting married this coming summer in NY (where she's from) and she didn't have any "trying on" costs either.  Sounds rediculous to me!
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options
    pirategal03pirategal03 member
    First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    I've only heard of it at that one place near Charlotte.  I'd probably shop around and research the brands they stock before I'd pay to try on a dress.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I tried on a bunch of dresses at a salon in Cary and it cost $20 to try them on. I was surprised by it.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    What is the reasoning for making a bride pay to try on dresses? That makes absolutely no sense. I would go somewhere else.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    NcsuPsychNcsuPsych member
    Combo Breaker First Comment First Anniversary
    edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/local-wedding-boards_north-carolina_costing-money-try-wedding-gowns?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Local%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:115Discussion:a4f872a5-b955-4d07-94cd-48a55ef511b1Post:4096031c-f32d-4331-a4d1-a3b5c5059614">Re: Costing money to try on wedding gowns?!?!!</a>: