Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

How to invite coworkers to ceremony?

I am a teacher so I have lots of teacher friends and unfortunately cannot invite them to my reception.  I am having a church ceremony and I would like to extend an invite to my coworkers to attend.  I don't want to give each one an invitiation because of the cost and also I don't want anyone to feel excluded.  How should I go about extending the invite?

Re: How to invite coworkers to ceremony?

• Options
    You don't unless you can invite them to the reception as well. Weddings are one event.
  • Options
    In Response to Re:How to invite coworkers to ceremony?:[QUOTE]I am a teacher so I have lots of teacher friends and unfortunately cannot invite them to my reception.nbsp; I am having a church ceremony and I would like to extend an invite to my coworkers to attend.nbsp; I don't want to give each one an invitiation because of the cost and also I don't want anyone to feel excluded.nbsp; How should I go about extending the invite? Posted by ashlifive[/QUOTE]
    You can't invite them to the ceremony and not the reception.
  • Options
    Ditto  Edie - you need to either invite them to the whole thing or nothing.  While I'm sure it isn't your intention at all, it send the message "come to the wedding and bring a gift, but I'm not paying to feed you and entertain  you".

I think every couple on the planet has to make painful cuts and omissions to their guest list and that is where you guys are right now.  It is perfectly acceptable to not invite these people, but it would be quite insulting to just invite them to the ceremony only.
  • Options
    Well, I understand your point of view and I see how it can be rude...

However, I live in NJ...and a lot of times people go to the ceremony at a church.  They do not bring gifts and are not expected to.  I wouldn't want to offend anyone by just inviting them to the ceremony but I think they would be offended if I didn't.
  • Options