Nebraska-Omaha
Options

Over budget wedding!

Ok, so i'm new to this whole board's thing but really need help so here it goes.  When we started planning our wedding we had our budget planned out but then were told that it's your first wedding and in your twenty's and should invite almost everyone you know or knew.  Great in theory except that my fiancé and I are paying for our wedding on our own neither family is help financially and were both still in school and working full time.  Our small intimate wedding of a near 200 has grown to a 500 person guest list and seems to grow each day.  There's no one we can really cut out at this point but I need inexpensive ideas or DIY.  I'm not the most crafty person but to save money i'm willing.  I also don't want it to look cheap.  We really need to find way's to get back closer to our budget.  Are there any ideas from save the dates to center pieces or even invitations that anyone has??  Even great vendors in the area would be amazing!  Anything else is GREATLY appreciated as well!!  PLEASE!?!?!

Re: Over budget wedding!

• Options
    Chasity08Chasity08 member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm sorry...but if you have a 500 person guest list...then I'm sure there are people you can cut. When you are on a budget that you have to stick with then there will be sacrifices that have to be made. And if that means that you can't invite your 2nd cousin twice removed, and that girl from your hometown that you went to that concert with that one time but haven't talked to in 10 years....then that's what you'll have to do. There are no rules stating "you have to invite every single person you know to your wedding." Your wedding should be shared by your closest friends and family.