Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Questions to ask photographers

I'm meeting with a photographer next week and not really sure what questions to ask. I'm sure I should ask some, but I haven't come up with much.
I really like her work on her website - liked her photos immediately! I know she's been to my venues before, she already said she gets the CD to you within a week. She brings another photographer with her. And I know all about her pricing. What else should I be asking?

Re: Questions to ask photographers

• fallbride1109fallbride1109 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I would ask to see an entire wedding from beginning to end so you will see how she captures the day, preferably a wedding that will be shot in lighting similar to yours (outdoor, candlelight, etc.). 
  • edited December 2011
    As a wedding photographer I've found that the first meeting is just a "get to know you" meeting. You want to make sure you like the photographer personally and that you'l feel comfortable being yourself in front of them. As a recent bride, I couldn't think of what to ask either...and I'm in the business LOL

You might want to ask if they're expecting to eat at the wedding and if they have any special dietary needs. Otherwise, just chat and get to know them. If you're interested in prints or albums, ask if they do that. You might also want to know what kind of post-processing they do - PhotoShop etc.
    KRISTEN SIMENTAL PHOTOGRAPHY *** Weddings, Events, Portraits, and More! *** www.kristensimental.com
  • edited December 2011
    Ask about backup equipment, coverage for the day in case of an emergency and she can't make it, is the second photographer just an assistant or an actual hired photographer?