Asian Weddings
Options

One Day Cambodian-American Wedding

Has anyone planned a one day Cambodian-American wedding before?  I would like to take bits and pieces of the Cambodian ceremony and incorporate it with the western ceremony. This is the the concept I was thinking of but would love suggestions or ides: western ceremony, wrist-tying ceremoy, reception.  The main idea is to not have a full Cambodian wedding and western wedding in one day or two days.  Thanks!

Re: One Day Cambodian-American Wedding

• Options
    sparent2010sparent2010 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    You can probably incorporate it. A lot of people are now leaning towards mixed ceremonies. I am not an expert on Cambodian weddings do the groom/friends walk the bride and her friends from the house to the temple like in Laotian weddings? I always thought that was a fun thing even if you were at a hotel  close to your ceremony site since it adds a lot of festivity.

You can wear a reception white dress and traditional cambodian wedding garb to the ceremony or vice versa. I saw my high school friend did that and her pictures were beautiful. GL!
    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I am currently planning a Khmer/American wedding and one thing I found helpful was to ask my fiance's family what parts of the Cambodian ceremony is most important to them.  This way whatever parts of the American and the Khmer traditions I pull from I wont be sacraficing what is most important to my family, myself & my fiance, or his family. It is difficult though to take what is traditionally a two to four day event and squeeze it down to less than 8 hours. 
  • Options
    edited December 2011