Oregon

Help! Wedding in Portland, OR...

Hi there! I am new to the knot (and newly engaged) and need to see if anybody out there has any recommendations. We are moving to Portland early next year and thinking about having our wedding there. I am looking for any venues/accomodations... any help really! I would like to have an outdoor ceremony, something low-key (we aren't having many guests), we both love the ocean and would love to incorporate that into our wedding. Also we are looking for campgrounds around Portland for family to stay. Any advise is appreciated! :o)

Re: Help! Wedding in Portland, OR...

• edited December 2011
    Welcome!

Check out the Bravo Wedding Guide: http://bravowedding.com/

McMenamins properties are quite popular as they are budget friendly, quintessientially northwest, have indoor/outdoor options, and some are hotels which is convenient if you're having a lot of out of town guests: www.mcmenamins.com

There are plenty of campgrounds in the gorge or out towards the coast.
  • edited December 2011
    Thank you for the info!
  • jess9802jess9802 member
    First Comment First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    I love living in Oregon and think it's absolutely beautiful. But, the weather makes outdoor weddings sort of dicey. It can be hit or miss rain-wise until around the 4th of July. Then it's really nice, often until about mid-September. (This year summer started late and ended early, however. I'm so glad my original plans for a 4th of July weekend wedding this year ended up being pushed off until 2011. The weather that weekend sucked.)

So if you are thinking of an outdoor wedding in early June, I'd strongly recommend having a venue where you can take shelter from the rain. Also as an FYI (just in case you didn't know), Portland is about 1.5-2 hours from the North Coast (Seaside, Tillamook, etc.). I'm not as familiar with campgrounds, but there are tons of them around the state. Some may book up earlier than others.