Rhode Island
Options

Newport RI Wedding

Hi all! I am new to the knot and very intimidated by it so this will definitely take some getting used to. I got engaged in September and my fiance and I have decided that we want to get married in Newport, RI. (We live in North Jersey) We went this weekend to Newport and looked at a church in Bristol, met with Plantation Caterers and also stopped to look at the Rosecliff. We are pretty sure we will be booking the Rosecliff for July 2013. We were impressed with the food at the tasting for Plantation... however, I have no idea what to do next! I am going to try to come up again in February for the wedding expo but I was wondering if any Newport brides could give me some tips/advice and suggestions for flowers, photography, videography, hotel, transportation, etc. My fiance and I will be paying for a large chunk of the wedding ourselves so we do not have unlimited funds by any means. I would appreciate any input at all! Thanks so much :)

Re: Newport RI Wedding

• Options
    bethanylyn06bethanylyn06 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Hi! I am planning my newport wedding from NY, so I know how you feel. Here's some random advice to keep in mind- Something you should keep in mind for hotels in the area is that June is considered a "busy season" for newport, so all hotels in newport will be minimum 2 night stay and can be quite pricey for some guests. That was something I thought about a lot when I was booking my wedding as we have so many out of town guests. They usually dont get rates until a year in advance, so you still have time until you have to start doing that. 

You mentioned transportation - a lot of people book a bus to transport their guests from the hotel to the wedding.. I think a fun and unique  transportation option besides a bus is the newport trolley.. http://newportweddingtrolley.com/