South Asian Weddings

Break between ceremony and reception?

How long of a break are you having (or did you have) in between your ceremony and reception?  I'm wondering if the cocktail hour is enough time for me to take some pictures with family/friends and then change/get ready for the reception.  This is assuming I take most of the pictures before the ceremony...

Re: Break between ceremony and reception?

• edited December 2011

What do you need to do to get ready for the reception?  Depends on if you need make up touch ups or a different hairstyle?

One cocktail hour would make me nervous, based on what you want to accomplish, with the photographs and all. But I am not a pro!  This is my first time planning a wedding :)

I have left 1.5 hours in between the end of the wedding and the beginning of the cocktail hour!  Invites have not gone out or anything.  I am thinking of taking that down to 1 hour.  That will give people time to enjoy refreshments, take pics in Jersey City, change in the changing rooms provided by my hotel, go to their car, etc., before the cocktail hour begins.  But I don't want them idle for too long... I feel bad leaving them without an activity.

I also really want to attend 50% of my cocktail hour.  I know some people think this is against the rules or tacky or something, but cocktail hour is one of my fav parts of a wedding.  And I have some neat elements at my cocktail hour, so I feel I deserve to enjoy them.  The reason I mention it is that you may want to consider whether you want to attend your cocktail hour.

To answer your question, in short, I will leave at least two hours between end of wedding ceremony and beginning of reception.  1 hour "break" and a 1 hour cocktail hour. 

• edited December 2011