New York-Western

Buffalo, NY Wedding Off-Season

Hey Knotties!
I am planning on getting married in Buffalo/Amherst in spring/summer 2014, but I am wondering when is the off season for weddings in Buffalo? I was thinking late May/June since I am a student, planning on graduating from UB spring 2014, or September 2014 if I have to take summer classes (my FH is in the same situation, and he is looking at starting med school fall 2014 if all goes as planned with that, so this time frame looks like the best time for us). 
Also, what other ways can I save money here and there (other than DIY) in Buffalo, like with the photographer, limo, venue, caterers, etc.? 
TIA! <3

Re: Buffalo, NY Wedding Off-Season

• Off season for western ny is November April. And the best way to save is to limit amount of guests. Smaller bridal party savings on bouquets about 150 each. Spray roses and daisies are much more affordable than calla lilies, peony and orchids. I had my bouquet done by a professional, but had DIY center pieces. Roses, hydrangeas and orchids cost me about 40 per table. Potted orchids look very elegant as centerpieces too. If you choose same place for ceremony and reception, you are going to eliminate limo all together. Venues that host more than one wedding a day are generally cheaper. The new thing is to order small cake to cut and a sheet cake to serve. A friend of mine had homemade cupcakes. They were delicious, but you could tell they didn't come from a bakery. I've been to dessert only reception do not recommend. If pictures are important to you, hire good photographer. If not, you probably have a friend with a nice camera..... Just keep one thing in mind, just about every time you pick a cheaper option you might compromise quality.