Chit Chat
Options

My fiance won't get married unless I sign a prenup

He said he wants to make sure that latter on I won't try to take half of everything from him. Is that how it works that everything he has now and has later will always be his? I was a little hurt that he was so mean about it but I guess I understand. The only thing he has in his name is the house we just bought and his car and bank account. I tried to look it up but don't understand it very well.

Re: My fiance won't get married unless I sign a prenup

• Options
    GeauxTigers17GeauxTigers17 member
    First Comment
    edited May 2011
    I'm going to preface this with IT ALL depends on your state law. 

Did you put any money toward the house? Generally, any property you have before the marriage remains separate property, unless you commingle the asset with those of the other spouse. I am a soon to be attorney, so I can understand the value of prenups, but in this case, I'm not sure what the point is- it doesn't sound like he's a trust fund baby. But DO NOT sign a THING until you have your own attorney look at it. In this situation, you really need your own representation.
  • Options
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_chit-chat_fiance-wont-married-unless-sign-prenup?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:14Discussion:b348595e-1e81-47d1-ba19-6c9ab6e14ebaPost:d6ccf338-2bfe-44b9-857f-54dce973629d">My fiance won't get married unless I sign a prenup</a>:
    [QUOTE]He said he wants to make sure that latter on I won't try to take half of everything from him. Is that how it works that everything he has now and has later will always be his? I was a little hurt that he was so mean about it but I guess I understand. The only thing he has in his name is the house we just bought and his car and bank account. I tried to look it up but don't understand it very well.
    Posted by mellymellon[/QUOTE]