DC

Tidal Basin Ceremony?

Hi All--

I am a newbie and currently very OVERWHELMED with planning...My fiance and I really would like to have our special day in DC (not MD or VA) but we have a very strict budget of 10k. I really like the idea of a ceremony at the TJ, but have not been successful in finding any info on logistics, apart from the permit-getting part.

Has any had any experience with a ceremony at the Thomas Jefferson memorial/Tidal Basin?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Tidal Basin Ceremony?

• 2dBride2dBride member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Yes, it is possible to have your ceremony there.  However, you do need to think about the practicalities.  For example, parking in that area is nearly impossible.  If you are having both ceremony and reception there, the lack of cooking or refrigeration equipment could be an issue.  If you are planning to have only your ceremony there, not your reception, then guests are going to have to find parking there for an hour or so, then move their cars either to another downtown DC location (also probably with difficult parking) or to a suburban location that will take some time to get to in DC traffic.
  • mickeypottermickeypotter member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    And you'll need to fill out forms/get permission from Park Police to have photos
  • edited December 2011
    Ok, couple of pointers.

1. If you are getting married on any Park Services monument you need a permit to hold an "event" there. This is $50.

2. If you want to have professional photos taken you need a $350 permit from Park Services.

I am also having a small wedding at the TJ. For transportation issues I am hiring a Limo Bus to take us all down there (I am only inviting 23, including the photographers). After the short ceremony we rented a room at the Old Ebbitt to have a nice dinner with our family.