Connecticut

Catering budget - help!

Hi ladies,

I have no experience with caterers and was wondering what is the average price per person for a buffet reception? I was hoping to find the food, staffing, and beer/wine bar for about $100 per person. Does that sound reasonable? Which CT caterers in your experience are budget-friendly? My wedding will be outside under a tent with about 50 guests in the New Haven area.

Thanks!

Re: Catering budget - help!

• I definitely think $100pp is reasonable.  we were hoping for $100pp including the venue rental, so we needed the caterers to be around $80-$85 for that to work. They were able to do it by cutting back to beer/wine only and offering less expensive cuts of meat for the beef options.  We ended up not going that route, but got quotes from a few places. Michael's catering was the one we were going to go with before we decided on a country club instead.
    Follow me on pinterest (I do not know how to make that nice red button thing): http://pinterest.com/lizporter17/ Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I agree with PP that $100/pp is a reasonable price. You might have to do some negotiating and speak with more than one vendor, but you can find a caterer for that price (and maybe a bit cheaper depending upon your date). Good luck! 
  • edited April 2012