Students

Household bills?

Okay so I'm a college student. I just started classes this last week and my FI and I live with my parents. My parents know that FI and I planned to save and be out before we are married and we want a place that is cheap and needs a little work but still nice. This weekend they came up to us and said they found this awesome deal on a house and they guy is selling it for what he has left on the loan. $66,000. With a little bit of work we could probably invest $5-10 thousand then sell the place for about $100,000 when we want a bigger place.

So anyways we are really thinking about it but we want to know if we can afford it. What bills can you think about that we should consider before we do this?

We have...
Insurance, rent, water, electric, gas for driving, taxes, tv, phone, food, education, e ring, car.

Anything else?

Re: Household bills?

• Internet, any entertainment (eating out, movies, etc). I factor in school costs including student fees, books, registration. I don't know if this house has any gas appliances, but factor that in if it does. See if you can find out the property tax amount so you have a better idea of the costs. Call your insurance company and get an estimate for homeowners. In my area, the water bill includes trash-see if it is the same for your area.

• maintenance and emergency repair costs
    October 2012 December Siggy: Favourite Wedding Picture
    PIC_281copy1 Anniversary
  • Make sure you will have clear title and that there are no judgments against the land.  If he is selling it as "assuming the mortgage" I would bet that there are judgements.
    Proud to be an old married hag!! image
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_students_household-bills?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special Topic Wedding BoardsForum:684Discussion:da78cd5c-73a6-4a38-a396-0f587a03f490Post:553d152a-b483-4ac9-9338-4a50c0fc4847">Re: Household bills?</a>: