Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Tips from a Photographer to You

Hi! I seen a lot of women worrying about a variety of photography issues here on the site, and as a wedding photographer myself, I thought I might give a few tips to you ladies who don't know what to expect or how to compare photographers.

1. Bright, Sunny days are NOT the best days to shoot.
Many women think that the best days to schedule shoots are on sunny days, but in reality the best days are cloudy. Bright sunshine causes harsh shadow effects that can cause areas of your photos to be too light or too dark. Overcasting gets rid of shadows and creates a flawless, continuous lighting across the image.

2. Don't worry about poses!
If you have checked your photographers portfolio and their posing ideas are good, then that is one less thing for you to worry about. Ask your photographer if they direct poses or only shoot ideas from you. Many photographers have all the posing ideas in their head and can direct you if you don't have any ideas at all.

3. Choose natural light, over flash.
If you have the choice of shooting inside or outside, shoot outside! Natural light creates the sharpest, most professional looking images. If you do shoot indoors, look at your photographer's indoor photo examples. Do they look cheap and "snapshotty"? If so, your photographer may not have good enough quality equipment to do high quality indoor photos, and it would be best to only use them for outdoor shoots. Ask them if they use an "off camera" flash or a speedlight, or do they use the flash that is built onto the camera? Using the built-on flash often creates the cheaper lower quality photos. This may be something to consider.

4. How professional, is professional?