Snarky Brides

Flea bombing our house

Backstory: Dog and cat have fleas. I'm taking them to the vet Friday night to be boarded and while there, they are getting bathed and flea treatments. I was planning on flea bombing the house and H and I would stay elsewhere for the night.

I was reading the instructions on a flea bomb and it says to turn off any open-flame source (pilot light) or electric items that kick on (furnace, fridge). It makes me nervous to turn the furnace off at this time of year because I don't want our pipes to freeze and burst.

So to my question- is it worth it to bomb the house, or should I just vacuum, spray the stuff the vet gave us (Knockout and it works pretty well) Friday night and vacuum again Saturday morning? I've never had to flea bomb a house, so I'm a newb at this stuff.

ETA: I meant to add people who have had to do this, is it worth the trouble?

Re: Flea bombing our house

• Well, the damage you're going to have if your pipes freeze is going to be a lot more extensive than fleas. I'd just try the stuff the vet gave you, and if it doesn't work, have a plumber drain your pipes and do the bomb.
  • edited December 2010
    Yeah I'd start with the spray the vet gave you. Gizmo had fleas a couple of years ago and they weren't terribly difficult to get rid of. Aside from the spray and vacuuming, wash throw blankets, towels and other fabric items around the house.

ETA: I've never used a bomb either. I don't think they're necessary unless your house is literally infested. Like, you can see fleas jumping everywhere.
  • AnysunriseAnysunrise member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2010
    Oh, and don't take my word on this, but last year my parents left me alone for a week after we got our furnace fixed and I didn't know how to turn it on, so we had no heat for a week in the middle of December. It never got below freezing in the house. So if it's one night, you probably don't have to worry.