Texas-Dallas and Ft. Worth

Venue Questions/Help/Advice

So we got engaged last week, and somehow I have already worked myself in to a panic over the venue... mostly due to the budget. My parents are hoping to contribute $3-$5, so I am counting that as $3 right now and hoping it can cover venue/food/drink. Which could be crazy I suppose, I have zero experience with any of this. Going to be small, guest list at 50-60. I got very excited when I saw the prices for Times Ten Cellars, BUT I need ceremony + reception and they just told me I can only get the patio for the ceremony if we rent the entire winery (aka way way way out of budget and not possible). I can't imagine it would be a fun time to have the ceremony, evacuate everyone to move chairs and tables and get catering in, then drag everyone back.

So, that leads me to consider having the ceremony elsewhere. I thought about doing that at White Rock but I am worried about the logistics of set up/take down, etc for just 30 minutes of actual use. Also not so keen on a strange church, and the cost of a ceremony at my church would be over $1k, wiping out almost half of my reception funds (loved finding out that little price point).

Is there anything I haven't thought of? Looked at Heard Museum and it was fine, did not have our preferred dates and didn't love the interior but can be a backup. Drove by Myers Park but it's just so dang far out there (maybe it felt that way after a long day of searching?). We would like to avoid a banquet/hall/hotel look but I know it may be unavoidable due to our budget. 

Edited to add: our ideal month is October

Re: Venue Questions/Help/Advice

• edited March 2013