Second Weddings

Etiquette questions

Hi ladies,
I'm new to TK, (former Bumpie), recently engaged.

A little back groud: FI and I both are both divorced. I married WAY too young to an abusive man. FI also married too young to a woman with serious mental disorders. We both came from bad situations, found a great friendship with eachother. Friendship blossomed into a realationship, and now we're going to walk down the aisle again.

I looked back a few pages and couldn't find this, but sorry if it's a repeat.
Is it OK to do father/daughter dance? I feel like my Dad already gave me away once, I'm already living with FI, so there isn't the symbolic daughter leaving the nest thing.

What other things should be skipped the second time around?
craftyWImama.blogspot.com
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Etiquette questions

• We are getting married in a very informal ceremony in the beginning of our regular church service. Just standing up and saying our "I do's" , with no reception.

We will have an open house BBQ reception later tihis summer after we have settled in and can showhow we have settled in.
    I've never even heard of a wedding like ours I guess it's like eloping with evites.
    It will be announced at church the week in advance.  I'm getting some push back about gifts. One of the ladies from church called and said I couldn't expect gifts because there would be no celebration and was "encouraging" me to have a cake and coffee time after the service, so I can get gifts. I really dont care about gifts, I mean we are combining 2 households, sure towels would be nice but....

Am I totally ungrateful? I feel a bit bridezilla ish.
  • AliW - If you want to do the Father/Daughter dance then do it, if not skip it.  This is your day and you can celebrate how it best represents you and your FI. 
  • Lisa50Lisa50 member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment